The 2018 NQ Sportstar Awards will be hosted by the Cassowary Coast Regional Council. The awards evening promises to be an event not to be missed. More information will be provided in the coming weeks.

The NQ Sportstar Awards is one of the few regional sporting awards remaining that recognise grassroots sporting communities. Corporate Partners are essential in terms of delivering a quality event and the sporting communities of North Queensland are extremely grateful for the support received for the 2017 QRL North Queensland Sportstar Awards.

THANK YOU to QRL, PAYCE, Wilmar Sugar, Inclusion Works, Cruise Whitsundays, The Merinda Village Hotel and the Whitsunday Regional Council and all Council members.

The inaugural Sportstar Awards were held in 1991, to celebrate the sporting performances of 1990 for junior and senior athletes. The aim of the awards was to recognise the efforts of the best sports people in North Queensland and to encourage them to go onto greater heights. 

The Awards are now given in Junior, Senior, Service to North Queensland Sport, Athlete with a Disability and Masters categories. Each member Local Government Authority (LGA) throughout North Queensland is eligible to submit a nominee in each category. In an attempt to create a true North Queensland Status, every member LGA also has the opportunity to host the gala event.

The winner of each category may be submitted as a nominee to the Queensland Sports Awards conducted by the Queensland Sports Federation and the possibility of progressing to the National Awards.  Last year Tableland's sailing champion, Kirstin Wadley won our Junior Sportstar of the Year and then went on to win the Queensland Junior Sportstar of the Year!

2017 Results NQ Sportstar Awards:

  • Senior Sportstar - Winner - Jarrod Langford – Ten Pin Bowling (Burdekin)

Runner up - Aaron Kleier – Bull Riding (Isaac)

  • Junior Sportstar - Winner - Kristen Wadley - Sailing (Tablelands)

Runner up - Brodie Mayocchi – Mixed Martial Arts (Cassowary Coast)

  • Athlete With a Disability Sportstar -  Winner - David Nicholas – Para Cycling (Whitsunday)

Runner up -Aaron Chatman – Athletics (Cassowary Coast)

  • Masters Sportstar - Winner - Leanne Knox – Olympic Weightlifting (Whitsunday)

Runner up - Barry Morrison - Cricket (Townsville)

  • Service to NQ Sport -  David McNeil – Hockey (Cairns)


Fostering & Strengthening Active Participation in North Queensland.

Follow us on Facebook

Contact Details

Phone: 07 4724 2500

Townsville Sports House
Office 4
Redpath Street
North Ward Q 4810

PO Box 347
Belgian Gardens Q 4810